I've finished reading The Night Land: A Story Retold by James Stoddard and William Hope Hodgson. Hodgson's 1912 novel was an early cosmic horror, epic fantasy and romance tale loved by H.P. Lovecraft. It's set on the dying Earth and is filled with otherworldly imagery, unfathomable mysteries and is incredibly evocative with Mountain-sized Watchers, the terror inducing House of Silence, the enigmatic walking Silent Ones, and the distantly glimpsed Thing That Nods and the sounds emanating from the Country of the Great Laughter. These entities are not explained and all the more horrific for it.

The original novel is, however, terribly overwritten in an archaic style (17th century I think), and is also plodding, repetitive and all but unreadable. James Stoddard did a hero's work by rewriting the novel into a modern, more readable style and is fantastic. A breeze to read and I've read the original.

Recommended for fans of Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith.