It may interest those who have selected "New Testament" as a topic which they desire to follow that the Scriptures which were used by those who lived in the early years of the first century were not organized in the manner in which your copy of the "Old Testament" is organized.

The content of these books was the same but the manner in which that content was organized was different.

During the first century, the scriptures which predated the first century were organized in three sections. Luke 24:44 refers to these three sections. To this day, the text of these scriptures is still published in many Jewish Bibles in the same three sections that Jesus and His first century followers used.

In Luke 24:44, the text first refers to the books of Moses. In the Hebrew these books are called Torah (תּוֹרָה). Luke 24:44 next refers to the Prophets. In the Hebrew, these called Nevi'im (נְבִיאִים) but you may be surprised as to which books are found in this section. The contents of this section includes the text of the books that you know as Joshua, Judges, 1 and 2 Samuel (but not divided into two books), 1 and 2 Kings (also not divided into two books), Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the text of the 12 small books of prophecy (aka Minor Prophets) in one book called "The book of the twelve." Luke 24:44 last refers to the psalms. In the Hebrew, this section is known as Ketuvim (כְּתוּבִים) which can be translated "writings." This section includes Psalms, Proverbs, Job, Song of Solomon, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes (Qoheleth), Esther, Daniel, Esther, and Chronicles (but not divided into two books)